Skip to content

Date Night

November 3, 2012

Day 3 of 30 Days of Gratitude:  I am thankful for the occasional date night.  

Along with that, I am thankful for a responsible, trustworthy babysitter who can’t sit for us on the first Friday of each month because she goes to church to pray.  It’s been over a month since we’ve had a sitter.  October was just too nuts.  As soon as November rolled around, I lined up a sitter as fast as I could and out the door Curtis and I skipped.  As usual, as we rounded the corner off of our drive, we tried frantically to come up with ideas of what to do that wasn’t too expensive.  After listing a couple of restaurants, we decided to just check out a new place we both had driven by on occasion.  We walked in and enquired about the bowling.  This was one of those newfangled multi-purpose places–revelry (as they call it) and food!  We were surprised they did have lanes available (they only have 8) and extremely pleased when they told us that this weekend, bowling was free.  They had just recently opened and were evidently getting the kinks out of the system so bowling was free.  Needless to say, we stayed.  I bowled mostly lousy games and Curtis mostly smoked me, but I didn’t care.  It was fun to do something different.  We ate dinner there too, which was incredible.  The fries….oh, the fries….and the homemade vanilla ice cream.

Date night doesn’t happen nearly enough for us, so when it does, I am always thankful for it….whether it consists solely of playing Settlers of Catan at a coffee shop, canoeing, or eating dinner before a meeting at the kid’s school.  It’s great to spend time with Curtis.  I love that still want to spend time with him and high five him after my occasional strike.  I love the chance to play for moment and to be just the two of us instead being all five of us, as usual.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

