Skip to content

The Word of God–the Bible

November 4, 2012

Day 4 of 30 Days of Gratitude–
I am thankful for the Word of God as it comes to us in the Bible.

It’s Sunday and I’ve been been to church this morning.  If you know me very well, you know I’ve struggled with our church in the past couple of years.  I’ve struggled with hopes and trusts.  I’ve struggled with feeling a part of community.  I’ve struggled with feeling our church has been Spirit led.  I suspect this is mostly me right now, for one of the tenets of my faith is that God can work in all situations, whether or not I am aware of it or agree with it.  I’ve found a space to worship within our church that feels sacred and most of my adult history is in that church.  Still, many Sundays I come home feeling disturbed–in the holiest way of feeling disturbed, if that’s possible.  I feel the tensions, the questions, the un-ease that exists within me.

I am thankful for the Bible beyond words on these Sundays.  I am thankful for Revelations 21:1-6, which was read this morning for the celebration of All Saints Sunday…The Holy City coming down out of heaven from God, prepared as a bride beautifully dressed for her husband….They will be God’s people, and God himself will be with them and be their God…God will wipe every tear from their eyes….To him who is thirsty [God] will give to drink without cost from the spring of the water of life.  I am thankful for Genesis 1:27, which was read during Sunday School as part of our church’s struggle to decide whether or not to become a Reconciling Ministries Church….So God created human beings in his own image.  In the image of God he created them; male and female he created them.  I am thankful for everything in between those verses (and the little bits after and before them).  The Bible reassures me, it calms me.  The Bible reminds me of how great God is, how I don’t understand everything–because really, who can understand everything in the Bible–the apparent contradictions, the parables, the prophesies, the tensions that arise?  I’ve learned to find peace in the seemingly paradoxes.  I’ve reconciled Genesis account with Evolution.  I’ve taken comfort knowing that by confining the Bible to the literal sense of the words on the pages of the Bible that were written thousands of years ago in a totally different cultural context only limits the wonders of God.   I embrace the mystery.  Who am I, that I can understand God?  I don’t need to understand everything.  As I struggle with church and at church, I remain rooted in the Bible, in God’s promises, in God’s love and I know without a sliver of doubt that I am not alone in this world.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

