Skip to content

Writers

November 11, 2012

Day 11 of 30 Days of Gratitude

I am thankful for writers–for those who blog and those who write book.  For those who have passed and those who are just starting their writer’s life.

As is evident if you read much of this blog (more than just my gratitude posts), I love to read.  I have several blogs I check daily and a full bookshelf of read books as well as a large stack of books to read.  Today, I am thankful for all of those authors who have challenged me, encouraged me, and inspired me.  The list is long, but I am going to try to name a few.

For the women that blog, whose words remind me that I am not alone in my walk and my struggle.  For Ann Voskamp, who I may not always agree with, but with whom I can always gleam wisdom from.  For Micha Boyett, a new author who shares my love of reading and Benedictines, who I actually got to meet because she is best friends with a church friend of mine.  For Sarah Bessey, Jen Hatmaker and Rachel Held Evans who struggle with justice and mercy and love and living in this world as a Christian.  For (in)courage and SheLoves which are filled with these women plus many others.

I am thankful for all those who have written books.  For Henri Nouwen, C.S. Lewis, and Madeleine L’Engle.  For Lauren Winner and Barbara Brown Taylor, my favorite Episcopalian writers who talk about creating sacred moments in a secular world.  For Joan Chittister who teaches me to be intentional in all I do.  For Peter Enns and Lois Tverberg, recently discovered authors, who have helped me read the Bible more meaningfully and with a different lens.

There are many others.  The list seems to just grow and grow as time goes one.  I am thankful for those I don’t know who contribute so much to my faith.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

