Skip to content

Day 3 and Day 4

November 4, 2013
DSC_9992

One of my living saints–my Grandma.

Day 3–All Saints Sunday

Yesterday at church, we celebrated All Saints Sunday.  I missed the service due to a nasty stomach bug, but as I laid in bed, I did remember the service and the “saints” that have gone before me.

As a Methodist/former Mennonite, my definition of a saint is a rather loose one.  A saint is someone who has (usually) gone before, lighting the way to God in some way.  Of course there are the classic ones–St. Benedict, St. Theresa (Little Flower), St. Brigid, the dessert Ammas and Abbas (mothers and feathers), the martyrs of the Anabaptist movement of the Reformation, and those who stood up against war and oppression–against the Nazis and otherwise.  I have my personal saints as well–both dead (my grandfathers, two college friends) and living (church leaders, former employers, parents, and grandmothers, to name a few).

I remember the saints because it helps me remember this walk I’m on is not a solitary one.  My walk is a communal walk, with many others holding lights for me to help me down the path.  No where in the Bible is the church called to be a lone meditation.  Even the dessert ammas and abbas (who were sometimes hermits) talked about living in community.  Others show me God–others are the hands and feet of God for me.  Saints don’t intercede to God for me nor are saints perfect.  With many of my personal saints, I can tell you easily why they aren’t perfect.  But who of us are?  Saints aren’t God, saints only help me see God a little more clearly at times.

I am thankful for all those who light my path, who show me God’s love and grace.

DSC_0048

Day 4-Recovering from a virus

I am thankful for being healthier.

As I mentioned in Day 3, I was laid low on Sunday.  A nasty stomach bug hit and for the first time since I can remember, I spent the day in bed.  Then I slept soundly last night.

Today I feel better and I am thankful.  I am thankful to be able to eat again.  I am thankful for hot tea and hot soup to help nourish my body again after being sick.  I am thankful that my body is made to fight off viruses.

That is enough.  I am thankful that I am not sick today.

Leave a Reply

