Skip to content

Day 6-I am thankful for laments

November 6, 2013

While I tend to just think of the happy, beautiful things I am thankful for, today my heart is a little sadder.

Today, I know that right now, dear friends are mourning the loss of their daughter’s baby, just 20 weeks old in the womb, born too early.  I know family is gathered at their house and they are praying, giving the sweet baby who never had a chance to meet his parents to God.  I know they are holding each other up and mourning together.  I am thankful for their prayers and for their crying out of God, not because I am thankful that terrible things happen.  I am thankful for laments because I know I love a God who is known as the Great Comforter.  I know I love a God who can handle people crying out that they don’t understand.  I know I love a God who has wept when he walked on the earth over an untimely death of a friend.  I know I love a God who doesn’t call us to always be happy, but who calls us to be fully human, weeping and mourning at times.

I am thankful for laments, for being able to cry out to God when I don’t understand.  I am thankful I am not God and I don’t have to understand.  I am thankful that while at times, I may feel very alone, I am not alone.  I will never be alone.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

