Skip to content

Day 12-Exercise

November 13, 2013

As much as I moan about it sometimes, I am thankful for exercise.  I am thankful for being able to carve time in my schedule, for the body that allows me to exercise, and things I like to do to exercise.  I am thankful for the quiet laps swum in the pool–my muscles screaming whenever I try to do breaststroke or butterfly.  I am thankful for getting stronger and slowly swimming more and more.  I am thankful for the sense of accomplishment when I finish.

I am thankful for bicycles.  I am thankful for quiet rides by myself.  I am thankful for the country road to bike on that follows a creek in the middle of the city.  I am thankful for large shoulders and bike lanes.  I am thankful for early Saturday mornings when I see more cyclists than cars.  I am thankful for spin class to keep me pedaling when my schedule doesn’t allow for Saturday morning rides.

I am thankful for yoga.  I am thankful for holding stretches longer than I think is possible and for being sore the next day places I didn’t know I had muscles.  I am thankful for my balance gradually getting better and my hamstrings slowly losing up.  I am thankful for the slow pace of yoga in my otherwise fast paced life.

I am thankful for the instructors who lead my classes, who talk about listening to your own body and being gentle with yourself.  I am thankful for instructors who value not only the strongest, fastest, or most flexible, but all of us who show up and try.  I am thankful for the instructors in offering me grace in my abilities and dis-abilities.

I am thankful for walking.  I have newly discovered walking–never had the patience before.  However, this fall, I just didn’t have the time to drive to the YMCA for a class or a long bike ride.  I decided to try walking.  I’ve enjoyed it this fall. I enjoy the quiet of after school has started and people have gone to work.  I enjoy walking with friends and building relationships one stride at a time.

I  am thankful for my need to exercise.  I am thankful that I need it to be happy and more grounded.  I am thankful for being able know myself well enough to know when I get grumpy, it’s time to go swim, walk, bike, or do yoga.  I am thankful that exercise can help right the world, especially when I push myself harder and farther than I thought I could go.  I am thankful for just showing up some days, for the days when starting is the hardest part and starting anyway.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

