Skip to content

Day 20–I am thankful for the Life I live

November 22, 2013

Ok. I admit, this sounds cheesy as write it, but I am.  I am thankful for the schedule I currently have that allows me to read and write, enables me to volunteer at the kids school, and to be there at drop off and pick up for the kids.  I am thankful for the days that are spent at home cleaning, making menus and grocery lists, or shopping.  I am thankful for the few random days (like this Wednesday) when I remember to pray some of the hours (according to the Benedictine tradition).  I am thankful for being able to maintain relationships with friends and occasionally make new friends.

I am thankful for the choices Curtis and I have made together to allow this to happen.  I am thankful we live in a smaller house (by our first world, upper middle class standards–I know we live in a huge house by global standards) that pulls us all together into one common space.  I am thankful for the noise and messes (mostly) that accompany that choice.  I am thankful for afternoons playing outside with neighbors and am thankful that one these days, we’ll be able to bike to school again.

We don’t live a perfect life.  I could point out all kinds of flaws, but I’m not today.  Today, I am thankful for the life I have, that allows me to follow some of my own hobbies as well as support my husband and my kids.  I am thankful that is choice for me and not an expectation.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

