Skip to content

Best Of….

December 28, 2013

DSC_7435

I decided to enter into the end of the year best of/top ___(pick any number) fray and share my opinions.  We all know I have no shortage of opinions!

Top Eight Favorite Fiction Books (not in order)

The Inspector Gamache series by Louise Penny.  Didn’t love how the last one ended, but I really, really enjoyed reading these books this year.

Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghaise.  This epic novel was my favorite book club book of the year.

One Thousand and One Nights by Hanan Al-Shaykh

Where’d You Go, Bernadette?  by Maria Semple.  For pure entertainment purposes, this was my favorite.

Jayber Crow by Wendell Berry.  I am officially a Wendell Berry fan.  This was a super slow read, but I LOVED it!

How to Train Your Dragon series by Cressida Cowell.  This was my favorite book in the children’s fiction genre.  Can’t wait for book 11 to come out!  (and book 12!!).

Beautiful Ruins by Jess Walter.  Another book club book I enjoyed.

Book Thief by Markus Zusak.  When I read this, I didn’t think I liked it.  However, the longer I’ve gone since finishing it, the more I like it.  Interesting voice and commentary on war.  Yep, this was one of my favorites.

Top Ten Favorite Nonfiction Books (in the order I could remember them)

Pastrix by Nadia Bolz-Weber

Take this Bread by Sara Miles

Red Letter Christians by Shane Claiborne and Tony Campolo

Quiet by Susan Cain

Cooked by Michael Pollan

Yotam Ottolenghi’s cookbooks

Return of the Prodigal Son by Henri Nouwen

Reaching for the Invisible God by Philip Yancey

Jesus Feminist by Sarah Bessey

Silence and other Surprising Invitations of Advent by Enuma Okoro (even though, when I write this I haven’t finished the book yet, it’s definitely on my list.

Top Ten Favorite Places to Eat (in no order)

Lucy’s Fried Chicken (Austin)

Ramen Tatsu-Ya (Austin)

Arro (Austin)

Bacon (Austin)

Hopdoddy (Austin)

Live Oak BBQ (Austin)

Elizabeth Street Cafe (Austin)

Bakers Dozen (Harrisonburg, VA)

Ted Drewes Frozen Custard (St Louis, MO)

Duffeyroll (Denver, CO)

Six Most Memorable Movies (the only ones I really liked)

Kings of Summer

Silver Linings Playbook

42

The Hobbit

Iron Man 3

Moonrise Kingdom

Eleven Most Viewed Blog posts (In order)

Running Away from Hallmark (and Smart Aleck Facebook pictures)

Raw

Walking with a Limp

What I’ve Been Up To May and June

When Your Child Isn’t Ahead of the Curve

What I Was Up To This Month-September and November

Spiritual Practice of Parenting- Sitting on the Floor

What I Was Up to this Month-July Edition

Spiritual Practice of Parenting:  Tales of Grace and Forgiveness

DSC_7506

Happy New Year!!!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

