Skip to content

More Found Grace

March 28, 2014

I loved sharing my #foundgrace (check out Micha Boyett’s blog and book, Found, for more information about found grace) so much last week, I thought I’d share again….

For some reason, it’s been an emotionally hard week.  Sadness overcame me and lingered for a few days when I read the comments on Jen Hatmaker’s blog.  Such hatred and meanness in the name of Jesus.  It broke my heart.  Regardless of whether I agree or disagree with someone’s interpretation of the Bible (because we all have but interpretations—I don’t think many of us read the original Bible in Greek, Hebrew or Aramaic), I hope I can refrain from insulting and expressing hatred to another person because of their opinion about how best to love God.  The whole World Vision debacle saddened me as well–as much as anything that children’s lives were dramatically impacted because people disagreed with others.  Jen Hatmaker and Rachel Held Evans had beautiful posts that I thought were necessary.  I was surprised how emotional it all made me.  How can we as a Christian church proclaim the love and grace of God when we are so full of hatred and anger for each other?  This can not be God’s will, can it?

The sadness meant I looked a bit harder this week for God’s grace in my life.  Like so many things, because I was looking for it, I found it.  One boy needed some quiet time by himself and found a perch in tree to play with legos.  Both boys have things that are theirs only (gymnastics and baseball) which use their unique gifts, talents, and interests.  There was also an answer to prayer when my middlest, who has struggled with school this year, won a silver medal at the Math Pentathlon tournament last week (he won 4 of games and lost only 1!).  I must admit I cried a bit when my husband texted me to tell me that the boy won his last game (and consequently won the silver medal).

Without further words:

IMG_2106

 

IMG_2149

 

IMG_2174

 

IMG_2163

 

IMG_2138

 

From my reading of the Psalms yesterday when I had no words of my own:

Out of the depths I have called to you, O Lord; Lord, hear my voice : let your ears consider well the voice of my supplication.

If you, Lord, were to note what is done amiss : O Lord, who could stand?

For there is forgiveness with you : therefore you shall be feared.

I wait for the Lord; my soul waits for him : in his word is my hope.

My soul waits for the Lord, more than watchmen for the morning : more than watchmen for the morning.

O Israel, wait for the Lord : for with the Lord there is mercy;

with him there is plenteous redemption : and he shall redeem Israel from their sins.

Psalm 130 from Common Prayer by Claiborne, et al.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

